Headaches and antisocialness

Another March, another National Meeting.  This one was a lot of fun because my roomie is a good friend.

It was enjoyable for another reason as well… this is the first national meeting I’ve been to that didn’t give me the whopping headache I’ve come to expect.

Apparently the combination of air conditioning, overhead lighting, lack of water, and people noise is enough to give most people a headache at conferences.  I am no exception to that. Every single Playcentre National Meeting I have been to has given me a headache.  Even this one. It just wasn’t as bad.

And I think I know why!  I bought myself a visor hat – you know, like the ones little old ladies wear when they’re gambling or playing bridge. I didn’t care that it looked stupid (and made my hair flat).  I think it worked. My headache was very minor and as I said, I enjoyed the meeting.

Only one thing bothered me this weekend (and that’s saying a lot, because I could tell you stories about crap-looking food that was meant to be gluten-free, being dripped on by the leaky roof in the dining room, a lack of decent hot chocolate or coffee… etc.) and that was that I did my usual schtick of being antisocial on the Saturday night.

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m an introverted extrovert, and for me to go to these meetings and appear extroverted I need recharge time. So I skipped out on the “fun activity” and went back to the hotel room instead.

I missed out on a singalong.  Awwwww. I like those! I even took my ukulele so I could have joined in the playing, too.

So I wish I had not been so antisocial.  But then again, I need that recharge time. Would I have been quite as satisfied with the weekend without that recharge time? I’m not sure.

**A reminder that if you live in NZ and love Baker’s Delight you should enter the draw for 1 of 3 $10 vouchers!!

Tags: , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

2 responses to “Headaches and antisocialness”

  1. solodialogue says :

    There are some events that just are guaranteed to give me a headache too! I’m glad you were able to find a method to cope and reduce the ugliness that accompanies those awful things! I have found myself “anti-social” as well but not meaning to be – it’s just that if I don’t have that quiet time, I will actually get physically ill sometimes! Do what is best for your health!

  2. eof737 says :

    I think we all have days when we’d rather be elsewhere but we have to show up to an event… Antisocial behavior is fairly common.. 🙂
    I can’t believe March is almost over… Have a great April! 🙂

Leave a Reply

