Social Media isn’t the new toy anymore

In the circle of blogs that I read, there have been several blog posts about the slowness of the blogosphere lately.  Not as many people commenting, or posting, or tweeting, or pinning, or doing much of anything.

They’ve mentioned lots of reasons (which I won’t mention here… you can read this one or this one or this one.)

My personal take on it? Blogging hit its peak ages ago.  A brand new blogger starting now would not be able to make money or even get a wide audience unless they were exceptionally good and extremely dedicated.  There is so much work involved in promoting a blog that ther blogger basically ends up sitting in front of the computer all day.

I did that once. Not for blogging, true, but for a game on Facebook that basically needed you to be logged in all the time. If  you didn’t, your kingdom could be attacked and you’d lose your vassals!  It wasn’t worth it.

I can’t imagine that sitting in front of the computer all day to promote your blog is worth it, either, unless you really are making decent money at it.

I started this blog two years ago.  Even then I was aware that the blogosophere was saturated.  The original title of this blog, which can still be seen in the web address was “Lost in a sea of blogs.” That is still appropriate.

There are so many blogs that even if I did sit here all day, I wouldn’t be able to read a quarter of the ones that interest me.  I’m always happy when I do receive comments or a new subscriber, but it’s always a pleasant surprise – I don’t expect it.  Can’t be easy to find my wee blog that is basically my personal writing platform for fun and for me to work things out in my head!

Onto the topic of other social media – well, it was exciting when it (Facebook, Twitter, Google+, Pinterest, etc) was brand new and we were all figuring it out. Like  a new toy that you don’t want to let out of your sight while you figure out all the cool things it can do. Now we know how it works and it’s become part of the furniture.  It’s still one of our favourite things, but it doesn’t claim our attention as much as it used to do. Either we’ve got other new toys to play with (iPad3? A favourite game? I dunno. You tell me.  Mine is my ukulele), or we’re looking for that new toy.

(Don’t you wish you knew what the next big thing would be? I’d buy shares in it right now!)

In my opinion, that’s what’s going on in the blogosphere and social media.  We’re saturated with blogs, and our new toys aren’t new anymore.  Everybody’s getting on with life while they wait for the Next Big Thing.

In the meantime, I’m going to keep writing and being pleasantly surprised and thrilled when anybody comments on my posts.   Thank you so much for reading!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

9 responses to “Social Media isn’t the new toy anymore”

  1. Zen says :

    I agree that those things have lost their novelty. When I first started using Facebook I was so excited, always posting, commenting, liking stuff… but nowadays I barely even go there. Sure I like it, but it’s not as important. My current occupations are WordPress and Twitter, and so far so good… but I worry that one day I will lose interest… just like I’ve lost interest trying to buy stuff for my Sim on Sims Social, haha.

  2. susanft says :

    the words i’m hearing is that so many people are just over being inundated with electronic information that they’re choosing to read none of it. mores the pity for us. but like you, i write primarily for myself and is always a bonus when someone writes back to me.

  3. solodialogue says :

    Fascinating topic. I’ve noticed it as well, not just for myself but for those blogs I follow. Since I still consider myself a newbie (sorta) this being my second year of blogging, I was unsure what it was all about. I think that the use of social media will still be “new” to many who don’t really get it yet. There are still lots of those “older” people out there who have yet to figure it out and younger ones who are just settling in. I do notice that even without comments, my stats have consistently risen over time.

    I do write to reach out to others. I wish I had the sense to blog only for myself but I’d just be untrue if I said that. My whole thing is to reach others who are just learning about their child’s disability and need guidance and support. I hope that it’s just a fluke and people will start taking the time to comment and share. Someday we’ll know for sure, eh? 🙂

  4. vintagemummodernchild says :

    I think our new ‘toy’ is time – I know I’ve been spending less and less time online and more time in the real world which is nice. I first started blogging 4 1/2 years ago and it was a couple of years ago that I became more preoccupied with the stats than actually spilling my thoughts onto the page. I’ve started over with a brand new blog and as I’m not putting any pressure on myself to blog I’ve only managed 3 or 4 posts BUT I’m not bothered. I don’t feel the need to blog daily nor do I feel the need to blog about every little thing I do each day. I spend more time reading other bloggers posts rather than just flicking through their photos.

    And facebook games ugh for a while I played Farmville and Castleville – what a waste of time! haha

  5. Jenny (@AmericanRNinNZ) says :

    I know what you mean. I’m always shocked when someone tells me in real life that they read my blog, and I’ve been blogging for nearly 6 years now! The only way to make money at it is to promote it a lot, and while I enjoy having a blog for personal reasons, I don’t enjoy it enough to do the work necessary to turn it into a big draw for lots of readers 🙂

  6. Lattejunkie says :

    I am glad you blog, I lurk too much but I do read all your posts. Thank you for blogging!!

  7. Alison@Mama Wants This says :

    Oh yes, there a SO many more blogs now than there were a few years ago when the now big bloggers started out. And there are so many more social platforms now than there were then. So bloggers back then had more time to focus on writing. Now, we have to spread our time across so many networks, work so much harder on blogging, it’s mind-boggling!

    Thanks for linking to my post.

  8. whisperingwriter says :

    I get so confused on social media at times. My two main favorites are Twitter and Facebook.

  9. eof737 says :

    Things do slow, bloggers get fickle, and time gets lost keeping up with it all… But it is a great creative outlet and if we focus on that aspect and what it helps us achieve then it’s okay… Your are right about time consuming! Phew!

Leave a Reply

