How did we live without it?

eReaders are a marvellous thing.

They remind me of a short story I read in primary school. I have no idea who wrote it, and I don’t even remember what the whole story is about.  I just remember one paragraph.  The two child protagonists from the far future had found some paper books.  The adult with them had to explain what they were.  One of the children said something like “I wonder what they did with them when they were done with them? Threw them away I guess. Seems a waste. Our computer books have hundreds of books on them with room for thousands more.”  Keep in mind that short story was written before computers became a household appliance, and well before eReaders were on the scene.

My husband summed it up quite succinctly I think, when he was talking about the Sony eReaders we got for Christmas.  “I don’t know how I lived without this!” he said to me just yesterday morning.  “I can’t believe I used to go to the library and search for the book I wanted, only read one book at a time, and have to wait until I went to the library to start the new one!”

I had a good laugh at myself last night, because there was this one book (The Boy Who Fell To Earth by Kathy Lette, if you must know) that our library didn’t have as an ePub, and so I had to actually go to the library and get the hardcopy.  A real paper book! And caught myself trying to swipe the page when I needed to turn the page.

I always thought I’d be one of those people that would insist on paper books ages after they became computerised. That was when everything was still back-lit and I’d get a glare headache from staring at screens for too long.  eInk is a marvellous thing. I suspect it is the main reason I have been wholly converted to the eReaders.

Except for one major issue (which I’m sure they will sort in due order).  eReaders aren’t waterproof.  Can’t take them in with you for a long soak in the tub!!

Do you have an eReader? Can you live without it?

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

4 responses to “How did we live without it?”

  1. Jenny@PracticallyPerfect says :

    I know – I love my eReader, too 🙂 My mother-in-law puts hers in a plastic Ziploc bag whenever she goes to the beach or by the pool for waterproofing. It’s worked so far!

  2. Michelle says :

    I have an eReader, I liked using it for university but I prefer paper books, I am technology free when I read for enjoyment.

  3. solodialogue says :

    No eReader here! Just read things on my tiny iPhone. No iPad for me either. But I do remember reading something similar to your short story and I want to say it was in a book about the future but I’m not sure enough which book to write the title. I’m going to check.

    Strange how fiction becomes reality!

Leave a Reply

