Snow is teh evil.*

Ruapehu in January 2002

Ruapehu in January 2002 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m pretty sure snow has something against me.

Where I grew up, snow was a rare event, and I can count on one hand the number of white Christmases I’ve ever seen.  This shows that the snow doesn’t want to be anywhere near me.

The first time I went up a ski hill (with my grade 6 class) we tried cross country skiing and I fell over and sprained my wrist within the first few minutes. Had to run behind everybody else the rest of the way. It made me slip, in all it’s evilness, and then had the audacity to make my housekeys fall out of my jacket pocket, too. Somewhere on the mountain my keys are probably still hidden underneath a tree.

On days when it snowed, I had to walk 5 kilometres to my high school, mostly on the busy highway because the snow was mounted up on the sidewalk/footpath. Uphill both ways.  Yes, that’s possible. I’m not exaggerating. I’m sure it was a plot by teh evil* to get me run over by a car.

The second time I went up a ski hill (with my husband – then my fiancé) we tried snowshoeing. I twisted my knee. Not badly, but badly enough that it put an end to the day.

And (probably because it snowed so rarely) I am useless at driving in the snow. I’m sure the snow’s out to get me, and I drive accordingly.

So last Thursday, my most recent ski hill attempt, we went up Mount Ruapehu to show my children snow for the first time in their lives.  (How sad is that – Canadian children having to wait until they’re nearly NINE to see snow?) The snow didn’t disappoint. It only took two minutes for the snow to have its vengeance on me – I carefully negotiated down the first snow bank and slipped. WHAM! Majorly twisted knee.  Of the electric pain twinge OMG WTF that hurts kind.  I just got to sit and watch while my husband tobagganed with the kids.  And made a snow man. And I got left behind when they went higher and higher for better snow.

This just reinforces my belief.

And justifies our decision to move to a place where it does not snow. I will not go to a ski hill ever again. Ever.

* “teh” is not a typo.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

4 responses to “Snow is teh evil.*”

  1. solodialogue says :

    I grew up with teh evil in Washinton state. Years of it! What I found was that all my injuries would relate psychologically to how I approached the enemy. The more relaxed I was, the easier I maneuvered in it. But every single time I approached it or icy sidewalks with trepidation, falls and injury. There are secrets to the way to walk and navigate in it. I’m sure someone had blogged about it somewhere! Hope you feel better soon!!

  2. Jenny@PracticallyPerfect says :

    I’m so sorry :-/ I don’t really care for snow much, either, but I grew up with a LOT of it (though never had to walk to school in it – yikes). I’m very glad that I don’t have to drive on it here. Even though I was “used” to it back in the States, I was never comfortable with it. And while it’s pretty at first, it usually turns ugly, gritty, and grey before long. I hope you recover quickly!

  3. Maggie S. says :

    Hope you heal nicely. Stopping by from SITS. I haven’t seen snow in a long time.

  4. Nicole ~ Busy Mom in the Kitchen says :

    SITS Visit! Oh my, how horrible! Hope you heal quickly! Living in Alaska, I dream of moving back to a place of no snow…. like California. LOL

Leave a Reply

