Learning from Pinterest

Jenn at You know… That Blog?  is both my favourite person and extremely hated at the moment. She posted a few things on Facebook about Pinterest.  I am now obsessed with the site and keep checking it every few seconds.

It’s not all bad. I’ve learned several things.

1. That it’s a good idea to store sheets inside their pillowcase.  This blew my mind. Why didn’t anybody tell me sooner? Apparently this is my fault for not paying attention to Martha Stewart. But I don’t feel the need for a defense on that one.

Image from marthastewartliving.com

2. Cool cakes, party games and favours for a Lego party. This is important because it’s The Boy’s birthday coming up soon.

3. That you can make chocolate bowls using balloons. Apparently not as easy as it looks but still!!

4. Despite the drab grey/blue of my house, I really LOVE colour. My next house will have way more colour, no matter what the hubby says.

5. Roasting Broccoli and cauliflower is apparently yummier than steak. I must try this, now.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

14 responses to “Learning from Pinterest”

  1. LatteJunkie says :

    Well smack me upside the head with a wet fish (really badly translated Afrikaans saying)… who would have thought of putting the sheets in the damn pillow cases!?!?!

    I also crave more colour in my house but my hubby says we already have a fanta orange wall in the kitchen, turquoise in the lounge and lilac in the bedroom… so I am not allowed to paint anything else… 😦 party pooper!

    • Broot says :

      I know!! Really, I’m cross with myself for not thinking of it sooner!

      Bummer that he won’t let you paint anything. My house walls are all a blue-ish grey. Hubby won’t let me paint this house either, because we’re thinking of moving still.

  2. Aleta says :

    Well, heck, I didn’t know about the sheets in the pillow cases either!

  3. Simone says :

    The pillowcase/sheet thing???
    Brilliant!
    I never knew this EITHER, so THANKS broot for informing me.
    See what you can learn from…. blogging??
    Pinterest is FAB for party ideas; I am trying to avoid it for everything else – for someone with an addictive personality like me?
    far too dangerous!
    x

  4. Jenn @ You know...that Blog? says :

    I’m willing to be hated as long as you love me too! Addiction LOVES company.

    I use Pinterest as a reward for myself these days – I don’t get to go there until I have everything else that is *really* important already done. Simply because I’ll sit there and suddenly 2 hours will be gone and I’ll have no idea how it happened 🙂

    The sheets in the pillow case thing is so brilliant – it was one of the first things I saw when I first found the site.

    • Broot says :

      Aww you know I love ya. I think I’m going to have to do the reward thing too… I have too much work to do to sit on Pinterest!! 😉

  5. susan says :

    i just saw that hint about storing duvet covers inside the matching pillowcase in the womans weekly. seriously, how have i got to 43 without knowing this!
    roasting broccoli and soon!

    • Broot says :

      I don’t understand how I got to be my age without knowing either. And Yes! Roasting the Broccoli will happen this week at my house, too!

  6. oneordinaryday says :

    I’ve also found that pinterest can hold my attention way too long! : ) Love seeing so many awesome ideas all in one place.

  7. Blond Duck says :

    Lord, I’ve still got to learn facebook and twitter!

  8. anitajd says :

    OK, those are some fantastic suggestions!! Who would have thought? Don’t we all feel like idiots now? So simple, and so THERE! BTW, I LOVE COLOR! We lived in California for 4 years….the years of drab, I say….all the houses were stucco brown/tan….as were the insides (“Easier to coordinate”, they say. Boring, I say). When we moved into our current home 10 yrs ago…COLOR!! I even came up w/ an idea of a red /marroon accent wall. Hubby thought I was crazy….everyone loves it….would never change it. Go for it, girlfriend….add some color!

  9. bluecottonmemory says :

    I LOVE the pillowcase idea!!!! Love it! Love color, too: Burnt Cinnamon dining room, Delft Blue Guest Bedroom, Pale Green Master bedroom, light, dusty blue and light mocha for a boy’s room, brown paper bag for another – and my office? White Silk – as a color! LOL Not saying it all looks great – but I love color!

    I cannot imagine anything being better than steak! Cannot! Not even my eggplant parmesan, which is mighty close!!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Pinteresting? I think SO! « You know… that Blog? - August 2, 2011

Leave a comment