What I learned from my SITS day!

Photo by HelloJenuine via Flickr

See my previous post (It’s my SITS day, Yay!) to understand what this relates to:

10. Being a featured blogger makes your email, twitter, and page count go nuts. In a good way.

9. It’s really hard to go back and visit lovely people who come and leave comments on your blog when they only leave their email address and not a blog link.

8. WordPress makes it very difficult to email people a response to their comment, whereas in Blogger, you just have to click “reply.”

7. It would be really helpful for us international bloggers if our lovely hostesses would provide a day and time with a time zone attached.  I asked what time the post went live, and was only told “midnight.” I guessed at midnight EST, and I was wrong (my post went up earlier than the SITS post!). I figured that when they said the 6th of January, they meant the one on the other side of the dateline, so thankfully I wasn’t a day ahead of myself!!

6. I should include more Te Reo Maori on my blog. (Great feedback, ladies!)

5. I should include more pictures of New Zealand on my blog. (Again, great feedback, ladies!)

4. I should include more information about what I actually do at Playcentre.  (Feedback, again!)

3. It takes a really long time to go back and answer each comment and visit all the lovely visitors. Well worth it though. I don’t know where some of these lovely ladies were hiding but I immediately followed them!!

2. Even though there might be 10,000 bloggers registered at SITS, they don’t all come for a visit.  Considering #10 and #3, I think that might be a good thing.

1.  If you make a major mistake in your Featured Blogger blog post (no, I’m not gonna tell you where) either all your visitors (minus a favourite bloggy friend who is a frequent visitor) will politely not mention it, or won’t even notice. Thank goodness.  (*muah* Jenn!!)

Thank you, one and all, for visiting me on my SITS day!! I enjoyed my day and I am very slowly making my way around to visit each and every one of you. At least, those of you who left me a link to which I could get!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

22 responses to “What I learned from my SITS day!”

  1. semicrazed says :

    Happy SITS day to you 🙂
    Nice to hear that you enjoyed it.

    xoxo

    http://girlanachronisms.wordpress.com/

  2. Ms. Understood says :

    Sounds like you have a wonderful SITS day. I missed the action being away from my computer this weekend. Glad that you got lots of visitors and lots of great feedback that can only make your blog even better!

  3. Blond Duck says :

    I’m sorry I missed it!

  4. LisaDay says :

    That’s what I also liked about my SITS day – lots of comments and lots of great blogs to follow.

    LisaDay

  5. Missy | Literal Mom says :

    I don’t know that I’ve ever seen someone do a follow up post to their SITS day. Good stuff. Glad you had such a great day.

    • Broot says :

      Yeah I haven’t either, and it’s actually something that I’ve gone back and looked for with previous featured bloggers. So, I did my own! Glad you liked it! 🙂

  6. Kim says :

    It’s amazing to see a hundred comments, isn’t it?! Have fun following up . . . ; )

  7. Jenny@PracticallyPerfect says :

    Sounds like you got some great feedback! I actually use WordPress, too, but it’s really easy for me to reply on my account… it might be the theme that I’m using has it built in.

  8. Boy Mom Blogger says :

    Congratulations!! That’s awesome…

  9. Amber says :

    I’m glad you enjoyed your day 🙂

  10. misssrobin says :

    I’m glad you had fun with it. When I was featured, I had some of the same problems you’re talking about. I tried super hard to visit each person’s blog and send a thank you or comment. There were a few that I just couldn’t track down. Good luck.

  11. prettyisprettydoes says :

    I love this “evaluation” of your SITS day! There’s definitely much to learn in this community of blogging sistas. Can’t wait to experience a SITS day of my own one day. Again, congrats on a wonderful feature-day!

  12. Ronni says :

    Loved this post! 🙂 It gives us future feature hopefuls some insight into “what comes next.”

Leave a comment